Civil Society in OIC Member Countries
Date: 01 May 2010

This report is a general overview of the concept of civil society and its current state in ten countries of the Islamic world. Following a brief introduction to the theoretical meaning, structure and significance of civil society and civil societal organizations, the report presents an introductory overview of the situation of civil society in ten countries that are members of the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC); Azerbaijan, Egypt, Indonesia, Lebanon, Mozambique, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo, Turkey, and Uganda. The situation in these countries is presented using the findings of a study, Civil Society Index (CSI) (Phase 1: 2003-2006), carried out by CIVICUS, World Alliance for Citizen Participation. It is important to keep in mind that although geographically diverse, the Member Countries in the CSI cannot represent the OIC Countries as a whole. Therefore, the ratings in the index should not be generalized to include all the members of the OIC.

Online Electronic Version

Civil Society in OIC Member Countries (English)