SESRIC Announced the Passport Power of OIC Member Countries
Date : 15 January 2019 Venue : Ankara

SESRIC has published a new issue of the Did You Know? (DYK) series on the Passport Power of OIC Member Countries.

The DYKs prepared by SESRIC aim to highlight the current situation of OIC Member States on a specific socio-economic variable in a one-page format. The content of this collection is regularly enriched with different indicators.

The current study focuses on both, Global and Intra-OIC Passport Power of the OIC Member States and analyses the relative strength of the passports of OIC countries enabling their citizens to travel visa-free among 198 countries worldwide and 56 countries at the OIC level in percentage terms. Visa-free in the context of the Passport Power Index includes visa-free, visa on arrival and e-visa privileges.

The brief study shows that citizens from 7 OIC countries, namely; UAE, Malaysia, Turkey, Kuwait, Oman, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia have an Intra-OIC Passport Power lie above 60%, which means that they can enter more than 34 OIC countries visa-free. Additionally; Brunei, Albania, Malaysia, Mozambique, UAE, Guyana, and Uganda are observed to be integrated more with non-OIC countries compared to OIC countries as a group as their Global Passport Power values are higher than their Intra-OIC Passport Power values.

To access the DYK on the Passport Power of OIC Member Countries and other themes, please visit: